The EPO's Economic and Scientific Advisory Board is composed of 11 patent experts from around the world. Appointed for a period of three years, they are a mix of economists, social scientists and practitioners. The executive secretary of the Board is EPO Chief Economist, Theon van Dijk.

Mr Harhoff Dietmar Harhoff (Chairman)
Director, Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition

Dietmar Harhoff is director at the Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition and head of the department Munich Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship Research (MCIER).

Ms de Russé Béatrix de Russé
Censor at Technicolor Board of Directors

Béatrix de Russé has been Executive Vice-President, Intellectual Property and Licensing, at Technicolor (formerly Thomson) since 2004, in charge of the IP organisation for the group for more than 20 years.

Ms Hall Bronwyn Hall

Professor, UC Berkeley

Bronwyn Hall is a professor in the Graduate School at the University of California at Berkeley and Professor of Economics of Technology and Innovation at the University of Maastricht in the Netherlands.

Robert Jacob (JPG)Robin Jacob
Professor, University College London

Sir Robin Jacob was appointed a High Court Judge (Chancery Division) in 1993 and Lord Justice of Appeal in October 2003. He joined the Faculty of Laws at UCL in May 2011.

Mr Molnár István Molnár
Patent attorney, Danubia patent and trademark attorneys

Dr István Molnár is a patent attorney and partner at Danubia Patent & Law Office. In 2011 he was appointed assistant professor at Kecskemét College, Hungary.

Mr MU Rongping MU Rongping
Director-General, Institute of Policy and Management, CAS

Mu Rongping is director-general and professor of the Institute of Policy and Management of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), director of the CAS Center for Innovation and Development and editor-in-chief of the Journal of Science Research Management.

Sadao Nagaoka (JPG)Sadao Nagaoka
Professor, Hitotsubashi University

Dr Sadao Nagaoka is a professor in the Institute of Innovation Research at Hitotsubashi University, Japan, and program director for research on technology and innovation at the Research Institute of Economy, Trade and Industry.

Ms Odman Boztosun N. Ayşe Odman Boztosun
Professor, Akdeniz University Faculty of Law, Antalya

Ayşe Odman Boztosun is a member of the Commercial Law Chair at Akdeniz University Law Faculty in Antalya, Turkey, and also serves as the Executive Director of the University Technology Transfer Office there. She is also on the International Advisory Board of the Institute for Consumer Antitrust at Loyola University Chicago's School of Law.

Mr Peters Ruud Peters
Executive Vice-President, Philips

Ruud Peters is Executive Vice-President and Advisor to the Executive Committee of Philips and also holds board memberships in various companies.

Ms Squicciarini Mariagrazia Squicciarini
Senior Economist, OECD

Dr Mariagrazia Squicciarini is Senior Economist - Head of Unit at the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), within the Directorate for Science Technology and Industry (DSTI), where she is responsible for IP-related data and analysis work.

Ms Van Overwalle Geertrui Van Overwalle
Professor, Centre for Intellectual Property Rights, KU Leuven

Geertrui Van Overwalle teaches patent law at the Centre for Intellectual Property Rights (CIR) of the Catholic University of Leuven. She is a member of the European Commission's Expert Group on Biotechnological Inventions.

Quick Navigation