Präsident Benoît Battistelli

Benoît Battistelli Seit Juli 2010 ist Benoît Battistelli Präsident des Europäischen Patentamts, einer internationalen Organisation mit 38 Mitgliedstaaten, die sämtliche Mitglieder der Europäischen Union und einige weitere Länder wie Norwegen, die Schweiz und die Türkei sowie mehrere südosteuropäische Staaten umfasst, die noch nicht der EU angehören.  

Der am 12. Juli 1950 in Paris geborene Franzose ist verheiratet und hat drei Kinder.

Nach seinem Studium am Pariser Institut für Politikwissenschaften (Institut d'Etudes Politiques de Paris, IEP) und der Verwaltungshochschule für den höheren Staatsdienst (Ecole nationale d'administration, ENA) trat er im Rang eines "administrateur civil" ins französische Wirtschafts- und Finanzministerium ein. Er war dort in der Generaldirektion für Wettbewerb und Konsum sowie der Direktion für Außenwirtschaftsbeziehungen tätig, insbesondere im Rahmen von Wirtschaftsmissionen in Indien, Italien, Polen und der Türkei.

1997 wurde er Regionaldirektor für Außenhandel der Region Ile-de-France. Ab 1999 bekleidete er im Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Finanzen und Industrie die Position eines Abteilungsleiters für Innovations- und Wettbewerbspolitik sowie gewerblichen Rechtsschutz. Unter Nicole Fontaine (Präsidentin des Europäischen Parlaments von Juli 1999 bis Januar 2002 und Industrieministerin der französischen Regierung von Juni 2002 bis Mai 2004) war er stellvertretender Kabinettschef, ehe er im Mai 2004 zum Generaldirektor des französischen Patentamts (Institut national de la propriété industrielle, INPI) ernannt wurde.

Benoît Battistelli war außerdem von Juli 2005 bis Juli 2008 Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats der Europäischen Patentakademie und von März 2009 bis Juni 2010 Präsident des Verwaltungsrats der Europäischen Patentorganisation, dessen Vizepräsident er bereits von Dezember 2006 bis März 2009 war.

Herr Battistelli ist aktiv am öffentlichen Leben beteiligt. 2008 wurde er zum stellvertretenden Bürgermeister von Saint-Germain-en-Laye gewählt, wo er speziell für Kulturfragen zuständig ist.

2013 wurde Herr Battistelli von der Chinesischen Volksuniversität in Peking mit dem Titel eines Ehrenprofessors ausgezeichnet.

President's blog

Quick Navigation

See also

Press photos

See also

The European Patent

A European success story for innovation

More about the book

 

President Benoît Battistelli

Benoît Battistelli Since July 2010, Benoît Battistelli has been President of the European Patent Office, an international organisation with 38 member states, comprising all the members of the European Union, plus a number of further countries, including Norway, Switzerland, Turkey and several Southeast European states. His mandate runs until 30 June 2018.

Mr Battistelli, a French national born in Paris on 12 July 1950, is married with three children.

A graduate of the Paris Institute of Political Studies (IEP) and the National School of Administration (ENA), Mr Battistelli began his career as a senior civil servant in the French Ministry of the Economy and Finance. He held various positions in the Directorate-General for Competition and Consumer Affairs and the Directorate of External Economic Relations at the Ministry of the Economy and Finance, where he served, in particular, as Trade Commissioner to Poland, Italy, India and Turkey.

In 1997, Mr Battistelli was appointed Regional Director for Foreign Trade for the Ile-de-France region. In 1999, he became director with responsibility for innovation, competitiveness and industrial property policy at the Ministry of the Economy, Finance and Industry. Mr Battistelli acted as Chief Advisor to Nicole Fontaine (President of the European Parliament from July 1999 to January 2002 and Minister for Industry in the French government from June 2002 to May 2004), before being appointed Director General of the French National Institute for Industrial Property (INPI) in May 2004.

Mr Battistelli also chaired the Supervisory Board of the European Patent Academy from July 2005 to July 2008 and held the position of Chairman of the Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation from March 2009 to June 2010, after serving as the Council's Deputy Chairman from December 2006 to March 2009.

Mr Battistelli plays an active role in public and community life. Between March 2008 and March 2014 he served as deputy mayor of Saint-Germain-en-Laye, with special responsibility for culture. He is currently a member of the City Council for Saint-Germain-en-Laye.

Mr Battistelli has been awarded the title of Professor honoris causa by Renmin University of China, Beijing, and an honorary doctorate by the Menéndez Pelayo University in Santander.

President's blog

Quick Navigation