EQE fee subsidies for candidates from certain countries

What is the EQE fee subsidy? 

The EPO currently subsidises, on request, the fees payable by EQE candidates residing in certain countries, i.e. the EPO member states which currently receive the highest level of financial support under the Organisation's co-operation policy. This subsidy is funded from the EPO's co-operation budget.

This fee subsidy is completely unrelated to the EQE Candidate Support Project.

Which member states are covered? 

Albania (AL), Bulgaria (BG), Croatia (HR), Cyprus (CY), Czech Republic (CZ), Estonia (EE), the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (MK), Greece (GR), Hungary (HU), Latvia (LV), Lithuania (LT), Malta (MT), Poland (PL), Portugal (PT), Romania (RO), Serbia (RS), Slovak Republic (SK), Slovenia (SI) and Turkey (TR).

Which EQE fees are covered and how high is the subsidy? 

The subsidy applies to enrolment and examination fees for the pre-examination and the main examination and covers 75% of the fees. You may request a fee subsidy up to and including your third resit (fourth sitting), per examination paper (Rule 8 IPREE).

You are eligible for a fee subsidy if you 

  • are a permanent resident and have been employed for at least six months prior to requesting the subsidy in one of EPO member states mentioned above;
  • have registered and intend to enrol for the EQE 2019 (see the Regulation on the European qualifying examination for professional representatives and the Announcement of the EQE 2019 in the Supplementary publication 2 - OJ 2/2017 and in OJ 3/2018 respectively).

How do I request a subsidy? 

To request a subsidy you must complete the ‘Request Form for EQE fee subsidy' (to be found below) and submit it by e-mail to helpdesk@eqe.org. Please mention "Fee Subsidy" in the "subject".

What is the deadline for requesting a fee subsidy? 

Requests for a fee subsidy must be made before enrolling for an examination and at the latest by Friday, 25 May 2018 for the pre-examination 2019 and Friday, 24 August for the main examination 2019.

What happens next? 

You will be informed by e-mail whether your request has been successful. This e-mail will contain a validation code (valid for one year only) which you must enter when enrolling for the examination via the EQE web portal (www.eqe.org). This code will activate a 75% reduction in the amount to be paid. This is the only way to obtain a fee subsidy. Do not enrol without entering the validation code as subsequent refunds are not possible.

Requesting a fee subsidy and enrolling for the examination are two separate procedures. Once your fee subsidy has been granted, you must enrol for the examination via the EQE web portal.

To ensure a smooth enrolment procedure for the EQE 2019, candidates are reminded of the strict application of the closing dates for enrolment. Articles 121 and 122 EPC do not apply. Candidates are strongly recommended to use a credit card as their method of payment as this will ensure swift payment. Payments by bank transfer are considered to have been made on the date on which the amount of the transfer is actually entered in the bank account held by the EPO (see Article 7 of the Rules relating to Fees).

What happens if I withdraw from one or more examination papers and inform the Examination Secretariat before the given deadline? 

The EPO will not refund any subsidised fees, even if you withdraw before the given deadline.

Download request form for EQE fee subsidy (PDF, 93 kB)

Quick Navigation