European Inventor Award

Popular Prize

Nominate your favorite inventor
  • Vote for your favourite inventor, and you'll be entered in a prize draw


European Patent Office
Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835



The European Inventor Award is presented in five categories:

José Luis López Gómez (Winner in the categorie Industry 2013)


The Industry Award is presented in recognition of inventors of outstanding and commercially successful technologies patented by large European companies. These are companies that have more than 250 employees and an annual turnover of more than EUR 50 million.

Gilles Gosselin (Winner in the category Research 2012)


This Award is presented to inventors working at universities or research institutions. Inventions presented in this category will often have led to major technological progress and enhanced the reputation of the inventor's institution.

Sanghoon Joo (Finalist in the category Non-European countries 2013)

Non-EPO countries

This category is open to all inventors from outside the EPO’s 38 member states, regardless of the size or turnover of the company applying their patented invention. However, the invention or related products must be available and enjoy considerable commercial success in Europe.


This Award honours the people behind inventions at small and medium-sized enterprises, i.e. companies that had fewer than 250 employees and an annual turnover of less than EUR 50 mln when the patent was granted. Ideally, the invention will have been a commercial success and helped the SME to expand its business.

Artur Fischer (Winner in the category Lifetime achievement 2014)

Lifetime achievement

This category honours the long-term contribution of an individual European inventor whose dedication and tireless efforts - and patented landmark inventions - have had a major impact on his/her field of technology and society at large.

Quick Navigation