Are you familiar with Y02/Y04S?

If you are a user of the Y02/Y04S classification scheme for climate change mitigation technologies, we invite you to participate in a short survey. It will only take a few minutes of your time and your answers will help us to improve the scheme further.
You can complete the survey in English, German or French language

Take the survey


Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC)

The Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) is an extension of the IPC and is jointly managed by the EPO and the US Patent and Trademark Office. It is divided into nine sections, A-H and Y, which in turn are sub-divided into classes, sub-classes, groups and sub-groups. There are approximately 250 000 classification entries.

The nine CPC sections
Human necessities
Performing operations; transporting
Chemistry; metallurgy
Textiles; paper
Fixed constructions
Mechanical engineering; lighting; heating; weapons; blasting engines or pumps
Y General tagging of new technological developments; general tagging of cross-sectional technologies spanning over several sections of the IPC; technical subjects covered by former USPC cross-reference art collections [XRACs] and digests

Search in the CPC in Espacenet 


The CPC is constantly being expanded as new technical fields emerge. More information is available on the CPC website.

CPC website

A complete overview of the CPC is available on the CPC website

Quick Navigation