In addition to the extension agreements, the EPO has concluded validation agreements with a number of states which are not a party to the EPC and thus not included in the designation "EP" (validation states). These validation agreements, unlike extension agreements, are not limited to European states. Pursuant to such agreements and the relevant national law, it is possible for applicants to validate European patent applications and patents in validation states, where the validated patents will confer essentially the same protection as patents granted by the EPO for the current 38 member states of the European Patent Organisation. 
In order to validate European patent applications and patents in a validation state, an applicant has to submit a request for validation and pay the validation fees in due time, i.e. within 31 months from the date of filing (or the earliest priority date) or six months from the date of publication of the international search report, whichever is the later. A further requirement is that, on the international filing date, the validation agreement has to be in force and the validation state must both be a PCT contracting state and be designated for a national patent in the international application. Thus, a decision on the states for which validation is sought – and, in accordance therewith, timely payment of the validation fee(s) is due – need not be taken until the application enters the European phase (see points 5.8.012 ff).
On 1 January 2020, validation agreements are in force with: 
Morocco (since 1 March 2015); 
Moldova (since 1 November 2015); 
Tunisia (since 1 December 2017); 
Cambodia (since 1 March 2018). 
PCT Newsletter 2/2018, 2 

Quick Navigation