| BESCHWERDEKAMMERN | BOARDS OF APPEAL OF | CHAMBRES DE RECOURS  |
|-------------------|---------------------|----------------------|
| DES EUROPÄISCHEN  | THE EUROPEAN PATENT | DE L'OFFICE EUROPEEN |
| PATENTAMTS        | OFFICE              | DES BREVETS          |

#### Internal distribution code:

| (A) | [  | ]  | Puk | olication | in ( | JJ      |
|-----|----|----|-----|-----------|------|---------|
| (B) | [  | ]  | То  | Chairmen  | and  | Members |
| (C) | [  | ]  | То  | Chairmen  |      |         |
| (D) | ſΧ | [] | No  | distribut | cion |         |

# Datasheet for the decision of 10 June 2013

| Case Number:        | T 0585/13 - 3.4.01 |
|---------------------|--------------------|
| Application Number: | 06809487.9         |
| Publication Number: | 1943537            |
| IPC:                | G01R 33/36         |
|                     |                    |

Language of the proceedings: EN

#### Title of invention:

Simultaneous MR-excitation of multiple nuclei with a single RF amplifier  $% \left( {{\left[ {{{\rm{AF}}} \right]}_{\rm{AF}}} \right)$ 

## Applicant:

Koninklijke Philips Electronics N.V. Philips Intellectual Property & Standards GmbH

## Headword:

—

Relevant legal provisions: EPC Art. 108

Keyword:

—

Decisions cited:

—

## Catchword:

-



Europäisches Patentamt European Patent Office Office européen des brevets

Beschwerdekammern

Boards of Appeal

Chambres de recours

**Case Number:** T 0585/13 - 3.4.01

### D E C I S I O N of the Technical Board of Appeal 3.4.01 of 10 June 2013

| <b>Appellant:</b><br>(Applicant 1) | Koninklijke Philips Electronics N.V.<br>Groenewoudseweg 1<br>NL-5621 BA Eindhoven (NL)                                 |
|------------------------------------|--|
| Appellant:<br>(Applicant 2)        | Philips Intellectual Property & Standards GmbH<br>Lübeckertordamm 5<br>D-20099 Hamburg (DE)                            |
| Representative:                    | Verweij, Petronella Danielle<br>Philips Intellectual Property & Standards<br>P.O. Box 220<br>NL-5600 AE Eindhoven (NL) |
| Decision under appeal:             | Decision of the Examining Division of the<br>European Patent Office posted 18 September 2012                           |

refusing European patent application No. 06809487.0 pursuant to Article 97(2) EPC.

#### Composition of the Board:

| Chairman: | н. | Wo       | lfrum |  |
|-----------|----|----------|-------|--|
| Members:  | P. | Fontenay |       |  |
|           | М. | J.       | Vogel |  |

## Summary of Facts and Submissions

- I. The appeal lies from the decision of the examining division to refuse the European patent application No. 06 809 487.9. The decision was notified by registered letter dated 18 September 2012.
- II. The appellant (applicant) filed a notice of appeal against said decision by a letter received on 23 October 2012 and paid the prescribed appeal fee on the same day.
- III. No statement setting out the grounds of appeal was filed within the four-month time limit provided for in Article 108 EPC. Nor did the notice of appeal contain anything that might be considered as constituting such a statement.
- IV. In a communication dated 12 March 2013 sent by registered letter with advice of delivery, the Board informed the appellant that no written statement of grounds had been received and that the appeal should be expected to be rejected as inadmissible pursuant to Article 108 EPC, third sentence, in conjunction with Rule 101(1) EPC. The appellant was informed that any observations had to be filed within two months of notification of the communication which reached the addressee on 18 March 2013.

## Reasons for the Decision

As no written statement of grounds of appeal has been filed within the time limit provided for in Article 108 EPC, the appeal is inadmissible pursuant to Rule 101(1) EPC.

The inadmissibility of the appeal is effective from the date of expiry of the period of four months of notification of the impugned decision.

# Order

For these reasons it is decided that:

The appeal is rejected as inadmissible.

The Registrar:

The Chairman:

R. Schumacher

H. Wolfrum