University memberships  

Leading European universities in 37 countries have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the EPO and the EUIPO as strategic partners in the Pan-European Seal programme.


  • Polytechnic University of Tirana
  • Faculty of Justice, University of Tirana


  • University of Innsbruck
  • Vienna University of Technology
  • University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU)
  • University of Vienna 
  • University of Graz
  • Technical University of Graz


  • Center for IT & IP Law (CiTiP), KU Leuven
  • College of Europe
  • Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB)


  • University of National and World Economy
  • Technical University 

Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • University of Banja Luka


  • University of Split


  • University of Cyprus

Czech Republic

  • Faculty of Law, Masaryk University
  • Institute for Legal Protection of Intellectual Property, Metropolitan University Prague


  • Tallinn University of Technology


  • Hanken School of Economics
  • Faculty of Law, University of Helsinki
  • Faculty of Law, University of Turku


  • Center for International Intellectual Property Studies, CEIPI
  • Faculty of Legal, Political and Social Sciences, Lille 2 University of Health and Law
  • Faculty of Law, Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University
  • Pantheon-Sorbonne University
  • Toulouse 1 University Capitole
  • ParisTech


  • Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf (HHU)
  • Institute for Intellectual Property, Competition- and Media Law, Faculty of Law, Dresden University of Technology
  • Munich Intellectual Property Law Center - MIPLC
  • Technical of University of Munich (TUM)
  • Faculty of Law, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich (LMU)


  • International Hellenic University
  • The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens - Law School
  • Aristotle University of Thessaloniki


  • Eötvös Lorànd University
  • Óbuda University
  • Budapest University of Technology and Economics


  • University of Iceland


  • Trinity College Dublin
  • UCD Sutherland School of Law, University College Dublin


  • Bocconi University
  • University of LUISS Guido Carli
  • University of Messina
  • University of Brescia
  • University of Udine
  • Sant’Anna School of Advanced Studies
  • University of Turin
  • University of Pisa


  • Riga Technical University


  • Kaunas University of Technology
  • Vilnius University
  • Vytautas Magnus University


  • University of Luxembourg


  • University of Malta


  • University of Montenegro

North Macedonia

  • Iustinianus Primus Faculty of Law, Saints Cyril and Methodius University of Skopje

The Netherlands

  • Maastricht University
  • Saxion University of Applied Sciences
  • University of Utrecht, CIPL - Utrecht School of Law


  • University of Oslo


  • Faculty of Law, Jagiellonian University
  • Faculty of Law and Administration, Lazarski University
  • Centre for Intellectual Property Law, University of Gdansk
  • University of Warsaw
  • Kozminski University


  • Catolica Global School of Law, Catholic University of Portugal
  • NOVA University Lisbon
  • University of Minho
  • Instituto Superior Técnico
  • University of Coimbra
  • Faculty of Sciences, University of Lisbon


  • BabeČ™-Bolyai University

San Marino

  • University of San Marino

Republic of Serbia

  • University of Belgrade


  • University of Trnava


  • University of Ljubljana


  • LL. M. IP & IT, Autonomous University of Madrid
  • University Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M)
  • Fundacion ESADE
  • IE Business School
  • University of Alicante
  • University of Valencia
  • Pompeu Fabra University
  • Polytechnic University of Valencia


  • Lund University


  • University of Bern
  • University of Geneva (UNIGE)


  • Istanbul Bilgi University

United Kingdom

  • Bournemouth University
  • School of Law, University of Leeds
  • Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences, University of Leeds
  • Faculty of Biological Sciences, University of Leeds
  • Centre for Commercial Law Studies, Queen Mary University of London
  • Centre for Intellectual Property and Information Law, University of Cambridge
  • University of Stirling

Further universities will be contacted directly by the EPO and/or the EUIPO and invited to take part in the programme.

Participation criteria

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) setting out the terms and conditions for co-operation in the area of IP awareness and education under the Pan-European Seal is made available to universities that express an interest in participating in the programme.

Participation criteria (specific to each university/academic area):

  • History of co-operation with the EPO/EUIPO
  • Participation in IP networks (e.g. EIPIN, EIPTN, ATRIP)
  • IP programmes (i.e. IP centres; IP courses - LL.M., MBA, master's, PhD, postdoc, etc. - or even IP content, seminars, etc.) on offer in EPO and EUIPO member states
  • IP and/or technology transfer research centres
  • Curricula covering eligible academic areas
  • International mobility programmes (e.g. Erasmus)
  • Multilingual teaching
  • Use of e-learning tools
  • ECTS label holder
  • Diploma Supplement Label holder
  • THE (Times Higher Education) ranking
  • CWTS Leiden ranking

The Pan-European Seal is not to be mistaken for a quality accreditation or certification process. Universities that have not been contacted and that are interested in participating can apply to become a member of the Pan-European Seal by sending an e-mail to

Quick Navigation