Contact

european-inventor@epo.org

Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835

Votre inventeur favori n'a pas encore été primé ?

Nominate your favorite inventor
  • Nominez un inventeur pour le Prix de l'inventeur européen 2016
 

A propos du prix

Le génie inventif à l'honneur

Le processus d'innovation repose en grande partie sur des hommes et des femmes qui vouent une passion aux découvertes. Leur curiosité d'esprit, leur quête de nouvelles idées et leur créativité sont la condition du génie inventif et du progrès. Le Prix de l'inventeur européen - l'une des compétitions les plus prestigieuses en son genre - rend hommage à la créativité des inventeurs du monde entier, qui utilisent leurs connaissances techniques, scientifiques et intellectuelles pour apporter une contribution réelle au progrès technologique et à la croissance économique, améliorant ainsi notre quotidien.

Lancé en 2006 par l'OEB, le Prix de l'inventeur européen offre aux inventeurs la reconnaissance qu'ils méritent. A l'instar de toute compétition, il crée une émulation parmi d'autres lauréats potentiels. Il contribue à protéger les idées et à promouvoir l'innovation.

Le trophée

Les lauréats du Prix de l'inventeur européen reçoivent un trophée en forme de voile. Symbole immémorial de l'ingéniosité de l'esprit humain et de l'exploration, la voile est l'idée inventive qui propulse l'humanité sur des rivages inconnus. Le trophée a été créé par la conceptrice industrielle allemande Miriam Irle. Il est réalisé chaque année dans un matériau différent afin de souligner le caractère changeant de l'innovation.

Le trophée pour 2015 a été fabriqué par impression en 3D. Inventée par Chuck Hull, lauréat du Prix en 2014, l’impression en 3D - aussi appelée stéréolithographie - a révolutionné le prototypage et l’usinage dans différents matériaux et en petites quantités de pièces et d’objets ad hoc destinés à des secteurs aussi divers que la construction automobile, l’aéronautique, les implants et appareils médicaux. Tirant parti des possibilités illimitées de l’impression en 3D, le trophée de cette année s’inspire de la tour Eiffel, symbole par excellence de l’esprit d’entreprise et d’innovation français. Obtenu par frittage laser, il se caractérise par une finition en bronze et un enchevêtrement de poutres horizontales, diagonales et verticales, à l’image de celle que les Parisiens nomment affectueusement « la grande dame de fer ».

EIA trophies

Détermination des lauréats

Chaque particulier peut nominer un inventeur pour le Prix de l'inventeur européen. La procédure de sélection repose sur le travail rigoureux d'experts de l'OEB et d'un jury international indépendant, qui évalue les innovations non seulement selon leur originalité technique, mais aussi selon leur incidence économique et sociale.

Détermination des lauréats (PNG)

1. Appel à candidatures

Le public, les offices nationaux des brevets et le personnel de l'OEB sont invités à soumettre leurs propositions.

2. Évaluation des propositions par les experts    

Un jury d'experts de l'OEB contrôle rigoureusement les propositions pour s'assurer qu'elles répondent aux exigences procédurales et juridiques et que les brevets concernés sont toujours valables.

3. Présélection des candidats

Une présélection d'environ 40 candidats dans les cinq catégories est préparée à l'intention du jury. Cette liste inclut des rapports détaillés sur les avantages des inventions.

4. Décision du jury

À l'occasion d'une réunion en face à face, le jury sélectionne au vote majoritaire trois finalistes dans chaque catégorie avant de désigner les lauréats.

5. Proclamation des finalistes

L'OEB communique officiellement les noms des finalistes au public.

6. Vote pour le Prix du public

Le public vote pour son inventeur préféré.

7. Proclamation des lauréats

Les lauréats des cinq catégories et du Prix du public sont proclamés lors de la cérémonie de remise des prix.

Quick Navigation

European Inventor Award

Popular Prize

Nominate your favorite inventor
  • Vote for your favourite inventor, and you'll be entered in a prize draw

Your favourite inventor hasn’t been honoured yet?

Nominate your favorite inventor

Contact

european-inventor@epo.org

Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835

 

About the award

Celebrating the spirit of innovation

The driving force behind the innovation process is people - people with a passion for discovery. Without their inquisitive minds, their quest for new ideas and their creativity, there would be no inventive spirit and no progress. As one of the most prestigious competitions of its kind, the European Inventor Award pays tribute to the creativity of inventors the world over, who use their technical, scientific and intellectual skills to make a real contribution to technological progress and economic growth and so improve people's daily lives.

Launched by the EPO in 2006, the award gives inventors the recognition they deserve. And, like every competition, it acts as an incentive for other potential winners. It helps to protect ideas and encourage innovation.

About the trophy

Winners of the European Inventor Award are presented with a trophy in the shape of a sail. An enduring symbol of exploration and human ingenuity, the sail recalls how an inventive idea can propel humankind to uncharted shores. The trophy was conceived by German industrial designer Miriam Irle and is crafted with new materials every year, highlighting the ever-changing nature of innovation.

For 2015 the trophy has been made using cutting-edge 3D printing technology. Invented by 2014 Award winner Chuck Hull, 3D printing has revolutionised rapid prototyping and small-volume production of specialised parts and products in many materials across all industries, including the automotive, aerospace and medical implants and devices sectors. Thanks to the limitless possibilities of 3D printing, this year's trophy takes its inspiration from the Eiffel Tower, itself a product of French entrepreneurial talent and innovation. Finished in bronze, the laser-sintered trophy features interwoven horizontal, diagonal and vertical beams, just like Paris's most distinctive landmark.

EIA trophies

Determining the winners

Any member of the public can nominate an inventor for the European Inventor Award. The selection process relies on the hard work of EPO experts and an independent international jury that evaluates innovations not only on their technological originality but also on their economic and social impact.

  • Call for submissions

    1. CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS
    Proposals are invited from the general public, national patent offices and EPO staff. Proposals from any technical field are eligible. The open call for proposals runs from April until October each year.

  • Evaluation of proposals

    2. EVALUATION OF PROPOSALS
    EPO staff rigorously evaluates the proposals to ensure they fulfil all legal requirements and represent significant inventions. A shortlist of 40-50 candidates is submitted to an independent jury, including detailed reports on the technical, societal and economic merits of the inventions and biographical information on each candidate.

  • Jury decision

    3. JURY DECISION
    At the jury meeting, each juror carefully reviews the shortlisted candidates and allocates points for their first, second and third choices in the five categories. After two rounds of voting and elimination, three finalists (including one winner) remain in each category.

  • Finalists announcement

    4. FINALISTS ANNOUNCEMENT
    The EPO officially announces the names of the fifteen finalists to the public in April. The opening of the public voting in the Popular Prize category is also announced.

  • Popular Prize voting

    5. POPULAR PRIZE VOTING
    The general public is invited to vote for their favourite inventor. An additional prize is awarded to the European Inventor Award finalist who receives the most votes on the EPO website and social media in the run-up to ceremony.

  • Winners announcement

    6. WINNERS ANNOUNCEMENT
    The winners in the five categories and the Popular Prize are announced at the Award ceremony in June.

Quick Navigation