Kontakt

european-inventor@epo.org

Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835

Ebenfalls nominiert in dieser Kategorie:

Luigi Cassar

Luigi Cassar, Gian Luca Guerrini and team (IT)
Smogfressender Beton

Koen Andries

Koen Andries (BE), Jérôme Guillemont (FR) and team
Medikament gegen multiresistente Tuberkulose

 

Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi, Robert Baldemair, George Jöngren, Henning Wiemann, Johan Torsner und Magnus Stattin (Schweden, Österreich, Deutschland)

Finalisten des Europäischen Erfinderpreises 2014

Erik Dahlman und Team

Kategorie: Industrie

Sektor: Mobilfunktechnologie und -dienste

Unternehmen: Ericsson

Patentnummern: EP2327192, EP2364559

Erfindung: Mobilfunkstandard LTE

Die 3G-Netze, die den ersten mobilen Breitband-Internetzugang ermöglichten, werden nun durch LTE-Netze ersetzt, die viel höhere Datenübertragungsraten bieten als die 10 Jahre alte 3G-Technologie. Ein Expertenteam bei Ericsson hat mit einer bedeutenden Zahl von Patenten zur Entwicklung des LTE-Standards beigetragen, der den Wirtschaftsmarkt des mobilen Internets erst entstehen ließ.

Ericsson logo

Um mit dem immer größeren Angebot an Multimedia-Inhalten und der zunehmenden Zahl der Nutzer Schritt zu halten, die über Mobilgeräte auf das Internet zugreifen, müssen die Kommunikationsnetze immer fortschrittlicher und effizienter werden. Nun wurde als Ersatz für die vorherige Generation ein neuer Netzstandard entwickelt: der sogenannte Long-Term-Evolution-Standard "LTE", auch "4G" genannt.

Die LTE-Technologie besteht aus Tausenden einzeln patentierten Innovationen, und ihre Entwicklung kann nicht einer einzigen Organisation, Firma oder Person zugeschrieben werden. Acht Ericsson-Angestellte - Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi, Robert Baldemair, George Jöngren, Henning Wiemann, Johan Torsner und Magnus Stattin – und ihr Team haben allerdings einen bedeutenden Beitrag zur Entwicklung des LTE-Standards geleistet. Ihre Patente in den Bereichen Konzeption von Funknetzbasisstationen, Signalverarbeitung, Konzeption von Luftschnittstellen und effiziente Nutzung von Funkressourcen sind von besonderer Bedeutung, weil sie die Qualität der LTE-Signale und damit den Gesamtwert des Dienstes für die Endnutzer erhöhen.


Gesellschaftlicher Nutzen:

LTE-Netze bieten mit Downloadgeschwindigkeiten bis zu 300 Megabits pro Sekunde (Mbit/s) und Spitzen-Uploadgeschwindigkeiten bis zu 75 Mbit/s deutlich höhere Übertragungsraten als die bisherigen 3G-Netze (7 Mbit/s bzw. 1 Mbit/s). Dadurch wird das Angebot für die Internetnutzer erheblich verbessert, weil sie beispielsweise Live-Fernsehen in HDTV-Qualität auf ihren Mobilgeräten ansehen können. Ericsson und andere Branchengrößen arbeiten bereits am Folgestandard LTE-Advanced, der wiederum höhere Geschwindigkeiten und Kapazitäten bieten und Hunderten Millionen Menschen weltweit ein noch schnelleres und besseres Interneterlebnis auf ihren Mobilgeräten ermöglichen wird.

Wirtschaftlicher Nutzen:

Im vierten Quartal 2013 nutzten etwa 200 Millionen Kunden weltweit LTE, die die Wahl zwischen mehr als 1 000 verschiedenen LTE-fähigen Gerätemodellen hatten. Ferner wurden in dieser Zeitspanne rund 250 Millionen LTE-Smartphones verkauft.

Der Markt wächst rapide, und eine Verlangsamung ist nicht in Sicht: Ein Bericht geht von einer durchschnittlichen jährlichen Wachstumsrate von 56 % zwischen 2013 und 2020 aus, während nach Ericssons eigenen Untersuchungen bis 2018 eine Zunahme des mobilen Datenverkehrs um das Zwölffache zu erwarten ist. Ericsson ist der führende Hersteller von LTE-Infrastruktur und wickelt schätzungsweise 50 % des gesamten LTE-Smartphone-Datenverkehrs ab.

  • Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall

    Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall

  • Muhammad Kazmi

    Muhammad Kazmi

  • Muhammad Kazmi, Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Robert Baldemair

    Muhammad Kazmi, Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Robert Baldemair

  • Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall

    Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall

  • Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi

    Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi

  • Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi

    Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi

  • Kazmi, Parkvall

    Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall


Funktionsweise:

LTE nutzt eine Luftschnittstelle für Downlinks (vom Funkmast zum Gerät) und eine weitere für Uplinks (vom Gerät zum Funkmast), um eine optimale Signalübertragung in beide Richtungen zu gewährleisten. Ferner kommt bei der Stimmen- und Datenübertragung durch die Luft eine besondere Zugangstechnologie zum Einsatz, die es den Geräten ermöglicht, mit jeder Funkzelle innerhalb des LTE-Netzes mehrere Downlink-Verbindungen aufzubauen. Dies sorgt für eine bessere Stabilität, Geschwindigkeit und Kapazität der Downlink-Verbindung verglichen mit den Technologien der 3G-Netze.

Für den Uplink wird eine analoge Technologie verwendet, sodass das Gerät stabile Upload-Verbindungen herstellen kann, obwohl LTE-fähige Geräte üblicherweise ein schwächeres Uplink-Signal aufweisen, um den Akku zu schonen.

The inventors:

Dank der Erfolge von Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi, Robert Baldemair, George Jöngren, Henning Wiemann, Johan Torsner, Magnus Stattin und weiteren Ericsson-Experten hält das schwedische Unternehmen nun nach eigenen Angaben beeindruckende 25 % aller wesentlichen LTE-Patente. Einige der Nominierten wurden von Ericsson zu verschiedenen Zeiten zum "Erfinder des Jahres" gekürt.

2009 wurden Parkvall und Dahlman für ihren Beitrag zum technischen und kommerziellen Erfolg der UMTS-Erweiterung HSPA von der schwedischen Regierung mit dem Stora Teknikpriset ausgezeichnet.


Wussten Sie das?

Da LTE-Netze eine viel höhere Kapazität haben als 3G-Netze, ist die Gefahr der sogenannten "Zellatmung" geringer, eines Phänomens, das auftritt, wenn in einem 3G-Netz eine Mobilsignalstation gezwungen ist, die Kapazität zugunsten der Abdeckung zu reduzieren. Dadurch können mehr Nutzer, die sich nah beieinander befinden, im Internet surfen, ohne eine Verlangsamung der Zugangsgeschwindigkeit befürchten zu müssen.

Quick Navigation

Contact

european-inventor@epo.org

Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835

Also in this category

Luigi Cassar

Luigi Cassar, Gian Luca Guerrini and team (IT)
Self-cleaning concrete

Koen Andries

Koen Andries (BE), Jérôme Guillemont (FR) and team
Drug against multi-resistant tuberculosis

Featured stories

Ericsson team

Marketwatch
Award nomination recognizes Ericsson as leader in 4G innovation


Your favourite inventor hasn’t been honoured yet?

Nominate your favorite inventor
 

Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi, Robert Baldemair, George Jöngren, Henning Wiemann, Johan Torsner and Magnus Stattin (Sweden, Austria, Germany)

Finalists for the European Inventor Award 2014

Erik Dahlman and team

Category: Industry

Sector: Mobile communications technology and services

Company: Ericsson

Patent numbers: EP2327192, EP2364559

Invention: Mobile network communication standard LTE

The 3G networks that first enabled true broadband mobile Internet access are now being superseded by LTE networks, which offer download and upload speeds many times greater than those achievable via decade-old 3G technology. A team of experts at Ericsson have contributed a significant number of patents to the development of LTE, powering the rise of the mobile Internet economy.

Ericsson logo As the Internet has become ever richer with multimedia content, and the number of people accessing the web via mobile devices has increased, there is a growing need to develop more advanced and efficient communication networks. A new network standard has been developed to replace them: This game-changer is called the Long Term Evolution (LTE) standard, commonly referred to as “4G”.

LTE technology consists of thousands of individually patented innovations, and its development cannot be attributed to a single organisation, company or individual. However, eight Ericsson employees – Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi, Robert Baldemair, George Jöngren, Henning Wiemann, Johan Torsner and Magnus Stattin – and their team have made significant contributions to the development of the LTE standard. Their patents in the fields of cellular network base station design, signal processing, air interface design and the efficient use of radio resources have been especially important because they influence the quality of LTE signals and, thus, user experience.

Societal benefit

LTE networks offer download speeds of up to 300 megabits per second (Mbit/s) and peak upload speeds of up to 75 Mbit/s – compared with the speeds of about 7 Mbit/s and 1 Mbit/s respectively, that 3G networks allow. This significantly enhances Internet users’ experience, for example by enabling them to view live high-definition television (HDTV) on their mobile devices. The evolving LTE Advanced standard, which is currently being developed by Ericsson and other industry players, will increase access speeds and capacity further, enabling an even faster, smoother mobile Internet experience for hundreds of millions of people around the world.

Economic benefit

In the fourth quarter of 2013, an estimated 200 million active LTE subscriptions existed globally, and more than 1000 different models of LTE-enabled devices were on the market. In the same time period, 250 million LTE smartphones were shipped.

And the market is growing rapidly, with no slow-down expected: One report estimates a 56% compound annual growth rate between 2013 and 2020. At the same time, Ericsson’s own research predicts that the total volume of mobile data traffic will increase twelve-fold by 2018. Ericsson is the leading manufacturer of LTE infrastructure, and it is estimated that it handles 50% of all LTE smartphone traffic.

  • Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall

    Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall

  • Muhammad Kazmi

    Muhammad Kazmi

  • Muhammad Kazmi, Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Robert Baldemair

    Muhammad Kazmi, Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Robert Baldemair

  • Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall

    Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall

  • Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi

    Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi

  • Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi

    Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi

  • Kazmi, Parkvall

    Muhammad Kazmi, Stefan Parkvall


How it works:

LTE uses one air interface for downlinks (from the network mast to the device) and one for uplinks (from the device to the network mast), allowing for optimal signal transmission in both directions. LTE also employs a specific type of access technology to transport voice and data traffic over the air, which enables devices to form multiple downlink connections with each cell within the LTE network. This maximises the stability, speed and capacity of the downlink connection when compared with technologies used by 3G networks.

A variation on the same technology is used for the uplink, allowing the device to connect reliably when uploading, despite the fact that LTE-enabled devices usually feature a weakened uplink signal in order to conserve battery life.

The inventors:

Thanks to the achievements of Erik Dahlman, Stefan Parkvall, Muhammad Kazmi, Robert Baldemair, George Jöngren, Henning Wiemann, Johan Torsner, Magnus Stattin and other experts at Ericsson, the Swedish corporation expects to hold an impressive 25% of all essential patents in LTE. Several of the nominees have also been recognised as “Inventors of the Year” within Ericsson at different times.

In 2009, the Swedish government recognised Parkvall and Dahlman with the Stora Teknikpriset award for their contribution to the technical and commercial success of the UMTS accelerator HSPA.

Did you know?

Because there is much more capacity in an LTE network than in a 3G network, there is also much less chance of the so-called “cell shrinkage” that occurs in a 3G network, where a mobile signal station is sometimes forced to trade coverage for capacity. This allows a larger number of people in close proximity to each other to access the Internet without being affected by a slow-down in access speeds.

Quick Navigation