Contact

european-inventor@epo.org

Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835

Autres inventeurs nominés dans cette catégorie

Artur Fischer

Artur Fischer (DE)
Cheville composite, flash synchronisé, et autres

Wieslaw Nowinski

Wieslaw L. Nowinski (PL)
Neuro-imagerie 3D haute résolution

 

Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair (Autriche)

Finalistes du Prix de l’inventeur européen 2014

Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair (Austria)

Catégorie : Œuvre d’une vie

Secteur : technologies médicales

Société : MED-EL

Numéro de brevet : EP0076069

Invention : Implant cochléaire

Pour comprendre la parole, il ne suffit pas de l'entendre – l'auditeur reçoit aussi des informations grâce à l'inflexion ou au ton de la voix de la personne qui parle. Grâce à l'invention d'Ingeborg et Erwin Hochmair, l'implant cochléaire multicanal, des hommes et des femmes dans le monde entier peuvent comprendre la parole clairement au lieu de n'entendre que des sons étouffés.

Cochlear implant to restore hearing

L'invention de ce couple marié inclut deux composants : un processeur externe qui convertit les sons en signaux électriques et un implant interne qui transmet ces informations au cerveau. L'implant lui-même comprend un ordinateur qui reçoit les informations provenant du processeur et des électrodes qui ont une forme unique et transmettent ces informations.

À la différence des implants cochléaires monocanal qui ne permettaient au patient que de discerner de vagues sons, l'implant multicanal des Hochmair permet aux sujets atteints de surdité profonde ou sévèrement malentendants de retrouver totalement l'audition, depuis 1980. Il reste le seul appareil à avoir jamais réussi à remplacer un organe sensoriel.


Impact social

La perte d'audition est l'un des six principaux responsables du fardeau global des maladies d'après l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). L'implant multicanal transmet toutes sortes d'informations sonores avec précision et permet à des centaines de milliers d'hommes et de femmes malentendants de comprendre la parole sans devoir lire sur les lèvres ni recourir à des stimuli visuels comme les gestes.

Impact économique

MED-EL, basé à Innsbruck, en Autriche, est le deuxième producteur d'implants cochléaires au monde. Au mois de décembre 2010, 219 000 sujets avaient reçu des implants cochléaires de MED-EL, ce qui souligne son rôle important dans un marché en pleine croissance.

Les implants cochléaires représentent le principal segment du marché global des implants auditifs et ont généré plus de 80 % des profits mondiaux sur ce marché en 2010. Le marché mondial des implants cochléaires devrait atteindre 1,7 milliards d'euros en 2017, avec un taux de croissance annuel de 14 %. Le marché devrait être stimulé par l'incidence croissance de la perte d'audition, la base de patients potentiels en augmentation rapide sur des marchés émergents tels que la Chine et l'Inde et par les progrès technologiques réalisés dans le domaine des implants cochléaires.

  • bild1 (JPG)

    Erwin Hochmair, Ingeborg Hochmair

  • bild2 (JPG)

    Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair

  • bild3 (JPG)

    Implant cochléaire

  • bild4 (JPG)

    Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair

  • bild5 (JPG)
  • bild6 (JPG)

Mode d'action

Dans les implants cochléaires, un microphone absorbe le son et le transmet à un mini-ordinateur externe qui traite les informations. Il y est converti en information numérique qui peut être transmise à la partie du système qui a été implantée lors d'une opération chirurgicale. L'implant crée des signaux électriques à partir de ces informations et transmet les signaux via la cochlée, la partie de l'oreille interne dont le rôle est le traitement du son.

L'implant multicanal des Hochmair utilise des électrodes pour stimuler le nerf auditif en pas moins de huit endroits différents. Il est à noter que les électrodes mises au point par le couple sont nettement plus longues que celles des autres implants et peuvent donc être insérées très loin à l'intérieur de l'oreille. Grâce à leur forme en spirale, ces fils sont installés en douceur à l'intérieur de la cochlée sans toucher les nerfs.

Inventeurs

Ingeborg and Erwin Hochmair met at the Vienna University of Technology in 1975 and began developing the world’s first micro-electronic multi-channel cochlear implant together. Only two years later, their first device could be implanted in a patient and in 1980 their invention was completed.In 1990, the couple co-founded the company MED-EL, which Ingeborg still manages as CEO, while Erwin has been a professor for applied physics and micro-engineering at the University of Innsbruck since 1985. The Hochmairs are the first married couple to be nominated to a joint European Inventor Award.

Le saviez-vous ?

Jusqu'à trois enfants sur cent naissent malentendants - un chiffre qui varie selon la région du globe dans laquelle on se trouve. Dans la plupart des cas, le nerf auditif est intact : ce sont les cellules auditives, qui traduisent les vibrations sonores en signaux électriques, qui sont soit absentes soit endommagées. L'implant cochléaire des Hochmair permet d'envoyer directement les informations sonores au cerveau directement, en court-circuitant la cochlée endommagée.

Quick Navigation

Contact

european-inventor@epo.org

Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835

Also in this category

Artur Fischer

Artur Fischer (DE)
Wall plug, synchronised flash and many more

Wieslaw Nowinski

Wieslaw L. Nowinski (PL)
3D brain atlases for clinical use

 

Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair (Austria)

Finalists for the European Inventor Award 2014

Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair (Austria)

Category: Lifetime Achievement

Sector: Medical technology

Company: MED-EL

Patent number: EP0076069

Invention: Cochlear implant to restore hearing

Understanding speech requires more than just hearing it – the listener also receives information via the speaker’s inflection or tone of voice. Ingeborg and Erwin Hochmair’s invention, the multi-channel cochlear implant, allows people around the world to clearly understand speech rather than only muffled sound.

Cochlear implant to restore hearingThe married couple's invention consists of two components: an external processor that converts sound into electrical signals, and an internal implant that sends that information to the brain. The implant itself comprises a computer that receives information from the processor, and uniquely shaped electrodes that pass this information along.

In contrast to single-channel cochlear devices, through which patients could only discern some vague sounds, the Hochmairs' multi-channel implant has been enabling the profoundly deaf or severely hearing-impaired people to regain their complete sense of hearing since 1980. It is still the only device ever to have successfully replaced a sensory organ.

Societal benefit:

Hearing loss is one of the six leading contributors to the global disease burden, according to the World Health Organization (WHO). The multi-channel implant transmits all sorts of sound information accurately and allows hundreds of thousands of people with hearing impairment to understand speech without the need for lip reading or visual stimuli such as hand gestures.

Economic benefit:

MED-EL, based in Innsbruck, Austria, is the second-largest producer of cochlear implants in the world. As of December 2010, 219 000 people had received cochlear implants from MED-EL, underlining its important role in a growing market.

Cochlear implants are the largest segment in the overall hearing implants market, generating more than 80% of the market's global revenue in 2010. The global cochlear implants market is forecast to reach EUR 1.7 billion by 2017, with a annual growth rate of 14%. The market is expected to be driven by the growing incidence of hearing loss, the rapidly growing potential patient base in emerging markets such as China and India, and technological advancements in the area of cochlear implants.

  • bild1 (JPG)

    Erwin Hochmair, Ingeborg Hochmair

  • bild2 (JPG)

    Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair

  • bild3 (JPG)

    Cochlear implant to restore hearing

  • bild4 (JPG)

    Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair

  • bild5 (JPG)
  • bild6 (JPG)

How it works:

In cochlear implants, a microphone absorbs sound and sends it to an external minicomputer for processing. There, it is converted into digital information that can be sent to the surgically implanted part of the system. The implant creates electrical signals out of the sound information and passes them along the cochlea, the part of the inner ear that processes sound.

The Hochmairs' multi-channel implant uses an array of electrodes to stimulate the auditory nerve in as many as eight different places. Also, these electrodes developed by the couple are much longer than those found in other implants and thus able to be inserted into the innermost regions of the ear. Due to their spiral form, these wires fit softly inside the cochlea without disturbing any nerves.

The inventors:

Ingeborg and Erwin Hochmair met at the Vienna University of Technology in 1975 and began developing the world’s first micro-electronic multi-channel cochlear implant together. Only two years later, their first device could be implanted in a patient and in 1980 their invention was completed.In 1990, the couple co-founded the company MED-EL, which Ingeborg still manages as CEO, while Erwin has been a professor for applied physics and micro-engineering at the University of Innsbruck since 1985. The Hochmairs are the first married couple to be nominated to a joint European Inventor Award.

Did you know?

Depending on the region of the world, as many as three in a thousand children are born with hearing impairments. In most cases, the auditory nerve is intact but the hair cells, which translate vibrations produced by sound into electrical signals, are either missing or damaged. The Hochmair’s cochlear implant allows sound information to be sent directly to the brain, bypassing the damaged cochlea.

Quick Navigation