Contact

european-inventor@epo.org

Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835

Autres inventeurs nominés dans cette catégorie

Hochmair

Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair (AT)
Implant cochléaire

Artur Fischer

Artur Fischer (DE)
Cheville composite, flash synchronisé, et autres

Couverture médiatique

Wieslaw Nowinski
Les Echos
La carte du cerveau

Polskie Radio
Polskie supersamoloty, polski wynalazca-wizjoner i świat po bozonie Higgsa

Rzeczpospolita
Polski umysł ponownie doceniony

Votre inventeur favori n'a pas encore été primé ?

Nominate your favorite inventor
  • Nominez un inventeur pour le Prix de l'inventeur européen 2015
 

Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski (Pologne)

Finaliste du Prix de l’inventeur européen 2014

Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

Catégorie : Œuvre d’une vie

Secteur : Technologie médicale

Société : ASTAR (Agency for Science, Technology and Research)

Brevets : EP2089851, EP2059165, EP1952340, EP2074584, EP1792279, EP1691687, EP1728213, EP1474782

Invention : Neuro-imagerie 3D haute résolution

Explorer le cerveau nous permet de mieux comprendre et traiter les maladies du cerveau , et de former les futurs médecins et neurologues. Les atlas du cerveau en 3D et en haute définition de Wieslaw Nowinski ont révolutionné la cartographie du cerveau et nous ont apporté un éclairage sans précédent sur notre organe le plus complexe.

3D brain atlas

Nowinski a conçu les atlas du cerveau en combinant plusieurs scans de cerveau dans une représentation en 3D. Cela implique d’énormes quantités de données. Pour gérer cette incroyable complexité, Nowinski a converti les scans en 3000 pièces ; chaque pièce doit être comprimée afin que l’atlas reste abordable et puisse être utilisé même sur tablette.

Nowinski a élaboré 34 atlas du cerveau qui sont utilisés pour la recherche et la formation médicale, ainsi que pour le diagnostic, la prédiction et le traitement des maladies du cerveau telles que Parkinson, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux et les troubles psychiatriques. Ses deux générations d’atlas, « Cerefy » et « Le cerveau humain en 1492/1969 pièces », sont considérées comme les atlas du cerveau les plus sophistiqués et les plus aboutis esthétiquement, et ont aidé à traiter des centaines de milliers de patients à ce jour.

Impact social
On estime que les maladies du cerveau sont responsables de 12% des décès, et une grande partie de ces décès sont imputables à des maladies cérébro-vasculaires. Avec le vieillissement de la population mondiale, l’incidence des lésions et des maladies du cerveau va aller croissant. Le marché des technologies interactives pour l’exploration et le traitement du cerveau est donc appelé à se développer afin d'améliorer de façon significative l’état des patients et de sauver des vies.

Impact économique

Environ 9000 copies d’atlas ont été distribuées sur CD-ROM et installées sur 1 500 stations de travail chirurgicales. Treize sociétés spécialisées dans les systèmes de chirurgie guidée par image, parmi lesquelles Medtronic, BrainLab et Elektra, ont pris des licences sur les atlas « Cerefy ».

Les atlas du cerveau Cerefy sont présents sur le marché des produits neurochirurgicaux, dont le chiffre d’affaires a dépassé 2,7 milliards $US en 2013. Le poids croissant des maladies du cerveau sur les systèmes de santé des marchés matures a contraint les fabricants à lancer des outils abordables pour le traitement des troubles neurologiques, et l’équipement d’aide à la recherche et au développement a suscité un grand intérêt.

  • Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

    Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

  • Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

    Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

  • 3-D brain atlases for clinical use

    Neuro-imagerie 3D haute résolution

  • Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

    Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

  • Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

    Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski


Mode d’action

Les atlas du cerveau sont élaborés à partir d'énormes quantités d’images et de données de toutes sortes. Les données neuroinformatiques permettent à des chercheurs comme Wieslaw Nowinski d'utiliser divers scans du cerveau et de les combiner afin de créer des cartographies sophistiquées. Nowinski est allé encore plus loin en générant des modèles de cerveau tridimensionnels que les utilisateurs peuvent manipuler et utiliser de différentes façons, et en élaborant des atlas adaptés à différents usages : de l’exploration du système vasculaire du cerveau au diagnostic de maladies telles qu’Alzheimer.

On programme l’atlas de Nowinski avec les images spécifiques du patient et l’atlas compare les structures correspondantes dans les deux hémisphères du cerveau en les « superposant » afin de détecter d’éventuelles anomalies. Les atlas sont également utilisés pour localiser des zones spécifiques du cerveau pour des simulations approfondies, identifier et analyser des structures dans des scans du cerveau, comparer l’anatomie du cerveau avec les données de patients atteints de maladies du cerveau, et pour la formation médicale.

Inventeur

Wieslaw Nowinski suit des études d’informatique et obtient un Master en sciences à l’Université de Technologie de Varsovie en 1977, complété par un doctorat avec mention à l’Université de technologie de Lodz en 1985. Il vit à Singapour depuis 1991 où il poursuit ses travaux chez Biomedical Imaging Lab, un centre de recherche financé par ASTAR.

Nowinski a déposé 32 brevets, dont 15 aux États-Unis et écrit plus de 500 articles scientifiques en support de ses inventions. C’est aussi un chef d’entreprise dynamique. Nowinski a créé trois sociétés de haute technologie dans le secteur des technologies médicales ; deux startups s’apprêtent à voir le jour. Il a même présenté devant le parlement polonais un projet de création de Réseau universitaire européen de pépinières d’entreprises afin de soutenir l’innovation et l’entreprenariat chez les jeunes.

Le saviez-vous ?

Se refusant à imposer à d’autres personnes de longues séances d'IRM susceptibles d’être dangereuses pour la santé, Nowinski a décidé de scanner son propre cerveau – parfois pendant plusieurs heures d’affilée. Pourtant, malgré des scans précis et de haute qualité, l’aspect esthétique de ses atlas du cerveau ne lui convenait pas. Il a donc demandé de l’aide à sa femme et à sa fille qui ont travaillé sur le projet afin d’améliorer les interfaces et de rendre les modèles de cerveau visuellement plus attrayants. « Il y a plein de couleurs, il est très beau », déclare Nowinski. « C’est un vrai projet familial ».

Quick Navigation

Contact

european-inventor@epo.org

Tel: +49 (0)89 2399 1830

Fax: +49 (0)89 2399 1835

Also in this category

Hochmair

Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair (AT)
Cochlear implant to restore hearing

Artur Fischer

Artur Fischer (DE)
Wall plug, synchronised flash and many more
 

Wieslaw L. Nowinski (Poland)

Finalist for the European Inventor Award 2014

Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

Category: Lifetime Achievement

Sector: Medical technology

Company: ASTAR (Agency for Science, Technology and Research)

Patent Numbers: EP2089851, EP2059165, EP1952340, EP2074584EP1792279, EP1691687, EP1728213, EP1474782

Invention: 3-D brain atlases for clinical use

Exploring the brain allows us to better understand brain disorders, treat trauma, and train future medical doctors and neuroscientists. Wieslaw Nowinski's high-resolution, 3D brain atlases have revolutionised the world of brain mapping and have given us unprecedented insights into our most complex organ.

3D brain atlas

Nowinski's brain atlases are the result of combining multiple brain scans into a 3D representation. Extremely large amounts of data are involved. To deal with the tremendous complexity, Nowinski converted the scans into 3 000 pieces ; each individual piece is additionally compressed so that the atlases can stay affordable and will work even on a tablet.

Nowinski developed 34 different brain atlases that are used for research and education, as well as for the diagnosis, prediction and treatment of brain disorders such as Parkinson’s, stroke and psychiatric conditions. His two generations of atlases, “Cerefy” and “The Human Brain in 1492/1969 pieces”, are considered the most advanced and beautiful brain atlases on the market and have helped treat hundreds of thousands of people so far.

Societal benefit:
Neurological disorders are responsible for an estimated 12% of deaths worldwide, and a large portion of these deaths are the result of cerebrovascular disease. As the planet's population ages, incidence of brain trauma and disorder will further increase. Consequently, the market for interactive technologies to explore and treat the brain will increase both in its size and its potential to dramatically improve and save lives.

Economic benefit:
About 9 000 copies of the atlases have been distributed on CD-ROMs, and they are installed on 1 500 surgical workstations. Thirteen image-guided surgery companies have taken out licenses on the “Cerefy” atlases, including Medtronic, BrainLab and Elekta.


The Cerefy brain atlases operate in the market of neurosurgical products, which exceeded US $2.7 billion in sales in 2013. The growing burden of brain disorders and trauma on the healthcare systems of mature markets has compelled manufacturers to introduce cost-effective devices for the treatment of neurological disorders, creating a great deal of interest in equipment that assists in research and development.

  • Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

    Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

  • Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

    Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

  • 3-D brain atlases for clinical use

    3-D brain atlases for clinical use

  • Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

    Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

  • Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski

    Wieslaw Lucjan Nowinski


How it works:

Brain atlases, are the product of massive amounts of different kinds of images and data. Neuroinformatics data allow researchers like Wieslaw Nowinski to take a variety of brain scans and combine them to create sophisticated maps. However, Nowinski has gone a step further to generate three-dimensional brain models users can manipulate and navigate in different ways, tailoring different atlases for different purposes: from the exploration of the brain’s vascular system to the diagnosis of diseases such as Alzheimer’s.

Images of specific patients are “superimposed” on one of Nowinski’s atlases and the corresponding tissue structures are compared in the two cerebral hemispheres in order to pinpoint deviations from healthy tissue. Among many other uses, the atlases are employed to localise specific areas of the brain for deep brain stimulation, to identify and analyse structures in brain scans, to correlate brain anatomy with the resulting disorders, and for medical education and training.

The inventor:

Wieslaw Nowinski began his studies in the field of computer design, receiving his Master of Science degree from Warsaw University of Technology in 1977 and completing his PhD studies with distinction at Lodz University of Technology in 1985. He has lived in Singapore since 1991, where he continues his work with Biomedical Imaging Lab, a research centre founded by ASTAR.

Nowinski holds 32 patents, 15 of them in the United States and has written more than 500 scientific publications supporting his inventions. However, he is also an active entrepreneur. Nowinski has started up three high-tech companies in the medical technology sector; two more start-ups are in process. He has even presented to the Polish parliament on establishing a European Academic Incubator Network to support innovation and entrepreneurship in younger generations.

Did you know?

Because he didn’t want to expose other people to the time commitment and the health risks associated with intensive MRI scanning, Nowinski stepped in to have his own head scanned - sometimes for several hours at a time. Still, he was not satisfied with the aesthetics of his brain atlases, despite the crisp, high-quality brain scans they contained. He solicited the support of his wife and daughter, who worked to make the interface more engaging and the brain models more visually appealing. “This has made it nice and colourful”, says Nowinski. “It is a real family project”.

Quick Navigation