Nominations for the European Inventor Award 2016 closed on 14 October 2015. Thank you for submitting your favourite inventors! We will be announcing the list of finalists in April 2016.

The categories

Industry: for outstanding and successful technologies patented by large European companies

SMEs: for exceptional inventions at small-to-medium-sized enterprises (SMEs)

Research: for pioneering inventors working at universities or research institutes

Lifetime achievement: honouring the long-term contribution of an individual European inventor

Non-European countries: for all inventors who are not European nationals but have been granted a European patent

Determining the winners

Any member of the public can nominate an inventor for the European Inventor Award. The selection process relies on the hard work of EPO experts and an independent international jury that evaluates innovations not only on their technological originality but also on their economic and social impact.

Determining the winners (PNG)

1. Call for submissions:

Proposals are invited from the public, national patent offices and the EPO staff.

2. Evaluation of proposals by the experts:

A panel of EPO experts rigorously checks the proposals to ensure that they meet the procedural and legal requirements and that the relevant patents are still valid. Additional patents relating to the same inventor(s) may also be considered.

3. Shortlist of the candidates:

A shortlist consisting of about 40 pre-selected candidates across the five categories is prepared for the jury, including detailed reports on the merits of the inventions.

4. Jury’s decision:

During a face-to-face meeting, the jury selects three finalists in each category by majority voting before finally selecting the winners.

5. Announcement of the finalists:

The EPO officially announces the names of the finalists to the public.

6.Popular Prize voting

The public votes for their favorite inventor.

7. Announcement of the winners:

The winners in the five categories are announced at the award ceremony.

Quick Navigation