Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC)

The Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) is an extension of the IPC and is jointly managed by the EPO and the US Patent and Trademark Office. It is divided into nine sections, A-H and Y, which in turn are sub-divided into classes, sub-classes, groups and sub-groups. There are approximately 250 000 classification entries.

The nine CPC sections
A Human necessities
B Performing operations; transporting
C Chemistry; metallurgy
D Textiles; paper
E Fixed constructions
F Mechanical engineering; lighting; heating; weapons; blasting engines or pumps
G Physics
H Electricity
Y General tagging of new technological developments; general tagging of cross-sectional technologies spanning over several sections of the IPC; technical subjects covered by former USPC cross-reference art collections [XRACs] and digests


The CPC is constantly being expanded as new technical fields emerge. More information is available on the CPC website.

CPC website

A complete overview of the CPC is available on the CPC website