University memberships

Leading European universities in 37 countries have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the EPO and the EUIPO as strategic partners in the Pan-European Seal programme.


Polytechnic University of Tirana

Faculty of Justice, University of Tirana


University of Innsbruck

Vienna University of Technology

University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU)

University of Vienna

University of Graz

Technical University of Graz

Central European University


Center for IT & IP Law (CiTiP), KU Leuven

College of Europe in Bruges

Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB)

University of Antwerp

Bosnia and Herzegovina

University of Banja Luka


University of National and World Economy

Sofia University “St. KIiment Ohridski”

Technical University of Sofia


University of Split


University of Cyprus

European University Cyprus

Czech Republic

Faculty of Law, Masaryk

University Institute for Legal Protection of Intellectual Property, Metropolitan University Prague

Charles University of Prague


University of Copenhagen


Tallinn University of Technology


Hanken School of Economics

Faculty of Law, University of Helsinki

University of Turku

Aalto University


Center for International Intellectual Property Studies, CEIPI

Faculty of Legal, Political and Social Sciences, Lille 2 University of Health and Law

Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University

Paris 1 Pantheon-Sorbonne University (Master 2 Propriétés Industrielles et Artistique)

Toulouse 1 University Capitole

Paris Tech

École de Design Nantes Atlantique

University Lumière Lyon II

Université Paris-Saclay

Université de Technologie de Compiègne (UTC)

University of Poitiers

University  of  Reims  Champagne-Ardenne


Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf (HHU), Faculty of Law, LL.M. of Intellectual Property Law

Institute for Intellectual Property, Competition- and Media Law, Faculty of Law, Dresden University of Technology

Munich Intellectual Property Law Center - MIPLC

Technical University of Munich (TUM)

Faculty of Law, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich (LMU)

Friedrich Schiller University, Jena

Europa-Institut, Law Department, University of Saarland


International Hellenic University

The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens - Law School

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Democritus

University of Thrace

University of Western Macedonia


Eötvös Lorànd University

Óbuda University

Budapest University of Technology and Economics

Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design


University of Iceland


Trinity College Dublin

UCD Sutherland School of Law, University College Dublin


Bocconi University

University of LUISS Guido Carli

University of Messina

University of Brescia

University of Udine

Sant’Anna School of Advanced Studies

University of Turin

University of Pisa

University of Parma

University Politecnico di Torino (Polito)

University of Milan

University of Bologna

University of Calabria

European University Institute, Florence

University of Trento


Riga Technical University


Kaunas University of Technology

Vilnius University

Vytautas Magnus University


University of Luxembourg


University of Malta


University of Montenegro

North Macedonia

Ss Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje


Maastricht University Saxion

University of Applied Sciences

University of Utrecht, CIPL - Utrecht School of Law

University of Amsterdam


University of Oslo UiT The Arctic University of Norway


Faculty of Law, Jagiellonian University

Faculty of Law and Administration, Lazarski University

Centre for Intellectual Property Law, University of Gdansk

University of Warsaw

Kozminski University

College of Europe in Natolin

University of Silesia, Katowice


Universidade Católica Portuguesa

NOVA University Lisbon

University of Minho - School of Engineering

Instituto Superior Técnico

University of Coimbra

University of Lisbon - Faculty of Science

University of Minho

ISEG Lisbon School of Economics & Management


Babeș-Bolyai University

West University of Timișoara

Transilvania University of Braṣov

San Marino

University of San Marino


University of Belgrade


University of Trnava


University of Ljubljana


University Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M)

Fundacion ESADE

IE University

University of Alicante

University of Valencia

Pompeu Fabra University

Polytechnic University of Valencia

Escuela de Arte y Superior Diseño de Alicante (EASDA)

Autonomous University of Madrid

Polytechnic University of Madrid (UPM)


Lund University - Faculty of Law

Stockholm University - Department of Law (SULaw)


University of Bern

University of Geneva (UNIGE)


Istanbul Bilgi University
Istanbul Technical University

United Kingdom

Bournemouth University

School of Law, University of Leeds

Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences, University of Leeds

Faculty of Biological Sciences, University of Leeds

Centre for Commercial Law Studies, Queen Mary University of London

University of Stirling

Faculty of Law (CIPIL) and the Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge

University of Portsmouth

University of Glasgow

Further universities will be contacted directly by the EPO and/or the EUIPO and invited to take part in the programme.

Participation criteria

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) setting out the terms and conditions for co-operation in the area of IP awareness and education under the Pan-European Seal is made available to universities that express an interest in participating in the programme.

Participation criteria (specific to each university/academic area):

  • History of co-operation with the EPO/EUIPO
  • Participation in IP networks (e.g. EIPIN, EIPTN, ATRIP)
  • IP programmes (i.e. IP centres; IP courses - LL.M., MBA, master's, PhD, postdoc, etc. - or even IP content, seminars, etc.) on offer in EPO and EUIPO member states
  • IP and/or technology transfer research centres
  • Curricula covering eligible academic areas
  • International mobility programmes (e.g. Erasmus)
  • Multilingual teaching
  • Use of e-learning tools
  • ECTS label holder
  • Diploma Supplement Label holder
  • THE (Times Higher Education) ranking
  • CWTS Leiden ranking

The Pan-European Seal is not to be mistaken for a quality accreditation or certification process. Universities that have not been contacted and that are interested in participating can apply to become a member of the Pan-European Seal by sending an e-mail to