The Administrative Council was set up under Article 4, paragraph 2(b), EPC. Detailed provisions relating to the Council can be found in Articles 26 to 36 EPC.

Chairman / Deputy Chairman portrait02.jpg

Josef KRATOCHVÍL, President, Industrial Property Office of the Czech Republic (CZ)

Deputy Chairman 
Borghildur ERLINGSDÓTTIR, Director General, Icelandic Patent Office (IS)

Honorary Chairman

Roland GROSSENBACHER, Berater und Mitglied der Schweizer Delegation (CH) 


1. Representatives of the member states
2. President of the Office supported by EPO staff
3. Board of Auditors (members: Frédéric ANGERMANN (FR), Ola HOLLUM (NO) and Hannes SCHUH (AT))
4. Staff Committee


Observer states:
- Bosnia and Herzegowina (BA)
- Montenegro (ME)

Intergovernmental organisations:
- European Union (EU), World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO), Nordic Patent Institute (NPI)

Non-governmental organisations:
- Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office (epi), BUSINESSEUROPE


Quick Navigation